Rafting Season: May 18th - August 11th, 2019

Phone Numbers:

Toll Free: 1-800-888-8582

Rafting Office

719-395-2992

Address:

Acquired Tastes Rafting

12918 Highway 24/285
Buena Vista, CO 81211

Rafting Trips are near Buena Vista, Colorado

Five-Star Rating on Trip Advisor!

20 Most Recent Reviews

Amazing company, personal service

Reviewed on July 1, 2018

My 10 year old grandson and I have rafted with Acquired Tastes two years in a row now. Yes, it’s a thrilling ride through possibly the best white water in Colorado. And the fact that their trip includes two extra rapids is a plus as well. But, what I really like is the personal service and obvious care they take to make the trip an exciting adventure for young and old alike. Thanks Ryan, Bria and Chuck for a great time!





Rafting/Camping Trip

Reviewed on June 30, 2018

What a first time experience I had rafting with Acquired Tastes Rafting!!! Our guide was Ryan and it was amazing to watch him maneuver through the rapids. Michael was our camp host and also a guide on our second raft. He also made the weekend such an enjoyable time! We all loved getting to know him better. On our second day of rafting we were able to raft with a few of the guides and had such a great day! Chuck has really picked a great group to guide his customers on the Arkansas River!! I can't wait till I can go again next year!! If I lived closer I would be rafting with them regularly. They made us all feel like family!! Thanks to all of you at Acquired Tastes Rafting! You truly are the best! Can't wait till next year!! I hope you all are there! S1





Amazing time on the Arkansas
Reviewed on June 24, 2018

Tess our guide did an amazing job of not only taking care of us down the river but kept our entire family engaged in everything along the river. Our lunch was outstanding as well! These gentlemen know what they are doing!!!




Awesome Experience!

Reviewed on June 21, 2018

 

Acquired Tastes does a great job of guiding you on the trip. I love going with them because they don't required the helmets on the low level Brown's Canyon tour, which are very cumbersome and take away the experience of the freedom of rafting. They give you two extra rapids by putting in at Johnson City so the trip lasts longer.

 

 



Hidden Gem

Reviewed on June 20, 2018
 

heard about this company through a friend and can't believe how lucky we were - had an awesome raft trip with Drew as our guide and he was wonderful - the water was down a bit but still had a great time - he was knowledgeable and really seemed to enjoy what he was doing - overall a fantastic time!! Would recommend this company to anyone who wants a first rate raft experience

 



Great trip!

Reviewed June 19, 2018
 

Our group of 8 guys met in CO this summer and had a great time doing whitewater rafting with Acquired Tastes (1/2 day trip, with lunch!). Our guides were great and took really good care of us. On a colder than typical day, the wetsuits rentals were great and very affordable. Overall great time - and we'll definitely be back to Acquired Tastes next time in the area (hopefully not too long!)




Service to rival a resort

Reviewed June 19, 2018
 

Acquired Tastes Rafting provides a terrific overnight rafting experience, and takes care of you the whole while. Ryan is a phenomenal guide and navigated 30 miles of the Arkansas with us. Mike hosted a top notch campsite, and is a fantastic cook. The six people on our trip will be talking about this river for years. 

Highly recommend spending the $12 to use a wetsuit for the trip. 

Chuck has built a great business!

 

 

Reviewed June 19, 2018


Had a bachelor party and rafted with my best man, father, future father in law, future brother in law, and a few of my friends. Had a great time. Guides (Tess and Graham) were professional, safe, friendly, helpful, did all the “lifting” but gave good instructions for paddling, funny, informational about nature, positive spirited, and made a really amazing lunch for us!!!

 

 

Reviewed June 11, 2018

What a wonderful experience! They took care of everything. I literally showed up with some sunscreen and sunglasses and that was all I needed. We had Tess as our guide and he was incredible! I highly recommend rafting with this company!

 

 

 

Reviewed June  6, 2018

Our group had a great experience with Acquired Tastes Rafting Company. The smaller locally owned company provided a personalized experience that can't be beat! Will definitely use them if I am rafting in the Buena Vista area again.

 


      Great Company for personalized service!

Reviewed August 27, 2017

If you would like to raft the Arkansas River there are several choices for Rafting Companies. Several are the Big Wall-Mart type discounted, lets take 200 down today companies. However if you are looking for real personalized, individual service; I highly recommend Acquired Tastes Rafting. Going with a company where the Guide will actually know your name, where the lunch is relaxed and of high quality, and the trip is safely executed, this should be your choice! My wife of 50 plus years had never been rafting and was scared to death. They took her concerns seriously, made sure she was comfortable in her life jacket and kept checking during the day, to confirm her trip was a positive and safe experience. We even got to know the staff so well, we were involved in their upcoming wedding (2 weeks) planning. Now, I need to state that I have been a professional rafting guide myself, many years ago. On this same river. I wanted to go with a commercial company with my very afraid wife. When one has done the same job before, it's always east to say, "well I would have done this differently". Acquired Tastes provided one of the most detailed safety talks I've ever heard and I never felt like I would have second guessed any part of their operation. 
They are Very Professional, yet small and personal. I will never hesitate to take a trip with them again, even with my grand kids.

 



Terrific overnight raft trip

Reviewed August 12, 2017

We just got back from a wonderful day and half white water rafting trip w Ryan from AT rafting in Buena Vista. We are not total thrill seekers but the Arkansas in August provided just about the right number of bumps and thrills for us... highly recommend both the Browns canyon for its views and notable rapids as well as Narrows for its more continual white water fun. We did come off the water cold on the first day due to some wind and rain but soon warmed up by the camp fire. The camping set up was not luxury but pragmatic in a beautiful spot by the river. Tess cooked up a great meal and some of the other guides and Chuck joined us. It was a great experience and we very much enjoyed it.

 

We Love AT Rafting!

Reviewed August 5, 2017

We bring multiple groups ranging from 10-50 people every summer. Chuck and the AT Rafting crew always make it super easy to organize and execute our rafting trips. We always do the 1/2 day trip with lunch which is the best option for our groups. The guides are always a blast and are a big part of what makes the experience fun. Additionally, AT Rafting takes their groups and extra 2 miles on the river which is a huge bonus. We will definitely keep bringing our groups back to AT rafting. Highly recommend!!

 

Best time!

Reviewed August 1, 2017

Really really enjoyed this rafting company! Very good guides, and the owner is very nice. The overall experience was a 10/10, the company really wanted you to have a great time and we did! It was just me and my boyfriend and we were on our own raft with a guide who was well informed and fun to talk to! Highly suggest going with this company over any other in buena vista, I will be back for the river and this rafting company.

 

 

Reviewed August 1, 2017

This was an amazing rafting trip! Great local rafting company! Professional staff care about their customers' experience and only do small groups to ensure you get the best experience. We did the Brown's Canyon Half Day and got the two extra rapids, one of which ended up being our favorite of the whole trip! The items you might have forgotten (like a glasses strap at $5/pp) or wet suits to rent (again $5/pp) are not overpriced in their store either, an added bonus. Chuck, the owner, is wonderfully knowledgeable and proud to be "the oldest guide on the river." We will be back!

 

Kind, Professional Staff + Two Extra Rapids!

Reviewed August 1, 2017

This was an amazing rafting trip! Great local rafting company! Professional staff care about their customers' experience and only do small groups to ensure you get the best experience. We did the Brown's Canyon Half Day and got the two extra rapids, one of which ended up being our favorite of the whole trip! The items you might have forgotten (like a glasses strap at $5/pp) or wet suits to rent (again $5/pp) are not overpriced in their store either, an added bonus. Chuck, the owner, is wonderfully knowledgeable and proud to be "the oldest guide on the river." We will be back!

 

Reviewed July 29/2017

I have rafted 4 times on Browns Canyon and this was my second time rafting with AT, I had a blast!  We had 8 people in our group we were split into 2 rafts, with an age range from 13-73. We did the full day trip with lunch which was delicious, no shortage of food and a wide variety of options.  Both our guides were great, safety was #1 priority, they gave good instruction and pointed out rock formations along the river.

 

Very Professional, Individualized, Intimate, Knowledgeable Rafting Outfit!
Reviewed July 28, 2017

ATR is a small, but very intentional, intimate company that does all the little things right, and then some. They're not concerned with pumping out tons of visitors and rafts. Each guide goes out once a day and makes that trip the highlight of his day. Each guide is very kind, knowledgeable, professional, funny, and safe.

 



Best Rafting Experience Ever

Reviewed July 27, 2017

Acquired Tastes gave us the best whitewater rafting experience we've ever had. Small groups, professional guides, great equipment and lots of fun. Our guide Ryan told us all about the Arkansas River, pointing out special rock formations. His safety tips were really helpful especially through the 3 & 4 rapids. Beautiful scenery. Fabulous experience.

 

Reviewed July 26, 2017

I researched many companies before choosing ATR. I am so glad we did. After reading the positive reviews, I booked this company online for a half day rafting trip in Brown's Canyon. Someone called to confirm the next day. I mentioned that one of our party of 4 had a shoulder issue and was concerned about having to be responsible for too much of the paddling. The woman on the phone said that this wasn't a problem and that maybe they would put an extra staff person on the boat to help. She emphasized that they were a smaller company than most and were used to accommodating their clients so that they had the best experience.
Sure enough, that morning, we were assigned Ryan as our guide and Bria, to help with the paddling. There was also a family of three in the office at the same time. I was concerned that we would all end up crammed into the same boat. To our delight, each group had their own raft and guide and we got Bria as a bonus. We noticed other companies that had 8 people on their rafts.
During the trip we found out that Ryan and Bria had just gotten married a week ago. 
Both of them did a great job. They pointed out the scenery and highlights of the river and kept us informed of what to expect at every turn. Although Ryan was extremely conscientious about safety issues, reminding us to plant our feet before every rapid and instructing us about the kind of paddling that we would need for each one, he was also emphasized that they wanted us to have fun and enjoy the experience.
We rented wet suits which I would highly recommend. You get splashed enough to keep you from getting too hot. Two of us rented water booties, the other two had water shoes with closed toes. I would also recommend that you wear fingerless gloves as sometimes we chafed our hands against the side of the raft while paddling. 
I can't say enough positive things about this company including the fact that they give your two more miles of rafting and two extra rapids than all of the other companies. The charge the same price as all the other companies but give a much better value.

 

Great rafting company in Buena Vista

Reviewed July 26, 2017

I researched many companies before choosing ATR. I am so glad we did. After reading the positive reviews, I booked this company online for a half day rafting trip in Brown's Canyon. Someone called to confirm the next day. I mentioned that one of our party of 4 had a shoulder issue and was concerned about having to be responsible for too much of the paddling. The woman on the phone said that this wasn't a problem and that maybe they would put an extra staff person on the boat to help. She emphasized that they were a smaller company than most and were used to accommodating their clients so that they had the best experience.
Sure enough, that morning, we were assigned Ryan as our guide and Bria, to help with the paddling. There was also a family of three in the office at the same time. I was concerned that we would all end up crammed into the same boat. To our delight, each group had their own raft and guide and we got Bria as a bonus. We noticed other companies that had 8 people on their rafts.
During the trip we found out that Ryan and Bria had just gotten married a week ago.
Both of them did a great job. They pointed out the scenery and highlights of the river and kept us informed of what to expect at every turn. Although Ryan was extremely conscientious about safety issues, reminding us to plant our feet before every rapid and instructing us about the kind of paddling that we would need for each one, he was also emphasized that they wanted us to have fun and enjoy the experience.
We rented wet suits which I would highly recommend. You get splashed enough to keep you from getting too hot. Two of us rented water booties, the other two had water shoes with closed toes. I would also recommend that you wear fingerless gloves as sometimes we chafed our hands against the side of the raft while paddling.
I can't say enough positive things about this company including the fact that they give your two more miles of rafting and two extra rapids than all of the other companies.

 

BEST Browns Canyon outfit
Reviewed July 23, 2017

If you want Brown's, gotta go with Chuck and crew at ATR. I've been rafting the Arkansas for years, taking groups of kids/youth, used many companies, got hooked on ATR 4 years ago and only use them now. Their best is the Browns half day, you get everything that the other outfitters do in their full day cause they take out at different locations. They only run one trip daily so your guide isn't rushed to get back for another group. Owner Chuck picks his guides well, Never had a bad guide. Their place aint much to look at, but your'e not hiring them for their front office aesthetics, you're hiring a river guide.

 



Two more rapids on half-day Browns canyon

Reviewed July 19, 2017

AT rafting is a somewhat hidden gem between all the rafting places around BV. The prices are the same as with the other companies, but AT takes you further down the river, resulting in two more awesome rapids and around two more miles total distance when you decide to go for the half-day Browns Canyon rafting tour. The last two rapids were definitely awesome, with the penultimate rapid being the favorite out of the whole trip for my family.

I strongly recommend Acquired Tastes, it's been a blast!

 

Fantastic experience

Reviewed July 12, 2017

So glad we picked ATR for our first family rafting trip! Chuck the owner was very helpful when reserving our trip over the phone. He answered all our questions and made us feel like we were making the right choice. Once we arrived our guide Ryan explained everything very well before we were on the river. Once on the river Ryan continued to be an excellent guide. He was always reassuring. Lunch was excellent and plenty of food was provided. Thank you Ryan for a safe trip! So glad we chose a smaller company for a more personal experience. We'll be back for sure!!

 

FANTASTIC TRIP

Reviewed July 6, 2017

My 13 yr old son and I rafted Browns Canyon and the Narrows while on a two day trip in June/2017 with ATR.
The owner Chuck was very kind and accommodating.
Ryan was our guide on both days and I can't say enough about how great he is. All the guides were very skilled rafters, John, Abe, Matt and Steven too, and a lot of fun!
We were able to get to know them all while camping overnight at the river and playing volleyball before having a feast for dinner. The lunches were always fresh and much more than we could eat and dinner was fantastic at the campsite. Salmon or steak, salad, bread and vegetable medley, YUM! And smores around the campfire before bed.
I would highly recommend ATR for your rafting and camping trips. And Bria runs the office very efficiently.

 

Read More Reviews on